PDA

View Full Version : Factory nav pre sync



rickf73
06-18-2010, 02:46 AM
Got a letter in today for an offer on the 2011 nav dvd for 199. Are these updates worth the money. I use my laptop to route me most of the time because the one in the car is not that great. Does anyone know if it will really make It any better?

Thanks.

Joe G
06-18-2010, 03:49 AM
I got the same thing.

Thought $200 was a little pricey... but my nav disc is over 3 years old, so I'm sure an update wouldn't hurt.


:spend:

Stew
06-18-2010, 03:51 AM
I got the same thing.

Thought $200 was a little pricey... but my nav disc is over 3 years old, so I'm sure an update wouldn't hurt.


:spend:

What does it update? Just the maps? Will I get a disc with my '11 that you guys could use? I have the electronics package, but it has Sync.

Joe G
06-18-2010, 03:56 AM
Yes - it updates the maps.

I don't think the Nav in the 07-09's are the same as the 10-11's.

Stew
06-18-2010, 03:57 AM
Yes - it updates the maps.

I don't think the Nav in the 07-09's are the same as the 10-11's.

Did you guys get a back up disc with you cars when they were new?

Joe G
06-18-2010, 04:02 AM
Did you guys get a back up disc with you cars when they were new?

Yes. You put the disc in the nav and it stays there. Without the disc you wouldn't have the nav maps.

Stew
06-18-2010, 04:03 AM
Yes. You put the disc in the nav and it stays there. Without the disc you wouldn't have the nav maps.

We can try my disc in your cars at Orfstock.

Joe G
06-18-2010, 04:05 AM
:tiphat:

rickf73
06-18-2010, 04:17 AM
My disk is number 8p I think. The 10-11 disk has to be different because the interface is so different.

Stew
06-18-2010, 04:20 AM
My disk is number 8p I think. The 10-11 disk has to be different because the interface is so different.

We'll have to see if they work. The map data is probably still in the same format. And I believe that it is DVD based.

Cobra Drifter
06-18-2010, 05:25 AM
Why not just burn a copy of the dvd? :look:

rickf73
06-18-2010, 04:50 PM
Could be a good idea to look into , not sure about the copy protection on these.

JTB
06-18-2010, 04:56 PM
What does it update? Just the maps? Will I get a disc with my '11 that you guys could use? I have the electronics package, but it has Sync.

I think the Nav disc has to stay in the unit so you can't share discs.

ati
06-18-2010, 06:33 PM
Why not just burn a copy of the dvd? :look:

I'll take one

Johnny Dangerously
06-18-2010, 10:37 PM
I've got version 4P.

I'll be bringing my laptop to Orfstock complete with a DVD burner.

If testing is successful, we'll lure Stew away from his unlocked car that still has the keys in the ignition with some beer.

That way he has complete plausible deniability to the whole incident.


`

Johnny Dangerously
06-18-2010, 10:38 PM
I think the Nav disc has to stay in the unit so you can't share discs.
You are correct. The complete database is on that disc.


`

Johnny Dangerously
06-19-2010, 01:29 AM
My disk is number 8p I think. The 10-11 disk has to be different because the interface is so different.
According to the Navteq site, the latest model year that they cover for the Mustang is 2009, & that version is 9P.


`

Johnny Dangerously
06-19-2010, 02:12 AM
I'm doing a test burn now with my nav disk to see if copying it is possible.

One thing I do know is that it will require a double layer DVD to copy the disk. There is 7+ gigs of data on it.

I'll need to check & see if my laptop can handle double layer disks, otherwise, I may have to borrow Stews disk & try it on my desktop.

I guess that I may need to make a beer run up to Jarretsville to return his disk to him. Oh darn.

Maybe Jeff will come down & join us.


`

rickf73
06-19-2010, 02:24 AM
I'm doing a test burn now with my nav disk to see if copying it is possible.

One thing I do know is that it will require a double layer DVD to copy the disk. There is 7+ gigs of data on it.

I'll need to check & see if my laptop can handle double layer disks, otherwise, I may have to borrow Stews disk & try it on my desktop.

I guess that I may need to make a beer run up to Jarretsville to return his disk to him. Oh darn.

Maybe Jeff will come down & join us.


`

If you do't have it let me know, I have some disk and burner that can do it and I will try.

I have the 8p version because when I bought the car they could not find the disk for the car and had to order me a new one. :grin:

Johnny Dangerously
06-19-2010, 02:36 AM
If you do't have it let me know, I have some disk and burner that can do it and I will try.

I have the 8p version because when I bought the car they could not find the disk for the car and had to order me a new one. :grin:
Thanks. If you would, please go ahead & burn a copy & I'll trade you a disk next week

The first errored out, but it still seems to work in the nav. I'll test it this week & see how it goes.

I've got some other software that I'll try & see if I get a clean copy.


`

Johnny Dangerously
06-19-2010, 02:44 AM
None of my other software works. It's only for video DVDs.

I'll do some more looking tomorrow & see if there's anything else out there.

Unless the copy that I made is actually good, it looks like Rick is our best shot right now.


`

Joe G
06-19-2010, 03:07 AM
Sounds good guys. This would be cool to save a few bucks... not that I'm into pirating or anything. http://ui17.gamespot.com/880/pirate2_4.gif

rickf73
06-19-2010, 03:10 AM
I will see if I can get a good image. This is just for back up purpose, not pirating. :)

Joe G
06-19-2010, 03:40 AM
This is just for back up purpose, not pirating. :)

Exactly. :yes:

ati
06-19-2010, 12:38 PM
I will see if I can get a good image. This is just for back up purpose, not pirating. :)

I would like one back up please.

Johnny Dangerously
06-19-2010, 06:11 PM
I will see if I can get a good image. This is just for back up purpose, not pirating. :)
I checked out ImgBurn & it works.

Now I just have to make sure that my laptop will handle the dual layer DVDs on Monday.


`

Joe G
06-19-2010, 06:14 PM
I checked out ImgBurn & it works.

Now I just have to make sure that my laptop will handle the dual layer DVDs on Monday.


`

:tiphat:

Johnny Dangerously
06-19-2010, 06:17 PM
:tiphat:
If this works, people will need to make sure that they bring dual layer DVDs (8.5 GB). Regular DVDs don't have the capacity.


`

Joe G
06-19-2010, 06:22 PM
Can do.

Cobra Drifter
06-19-2010, 06:35 PM
See arent you guys glad I suggested making a copy (for backup purposes) :grin:

Ps, when you get the blank disks, make sure they are of the same format that the original is in and that the dvd burner supports (+R or -R etc)

Joe G
06-19-2010, 06:37 PM
See arent you guys glad I suggested making a copy (for backup purposes) :grin:


Thanks CD. :tiphat:



Ps, when you get the blank disks, make sure they are of the same format that the original is in and that the dvd burner supports (+R or -R etc)

Good thinking... JD?? :waiting:

rickf73
06-19-2010, 06:39 PM
I use +R, they seem to always work, and it worked in my unit.

Cobra Drifter
06-19-2010, 06:46 PM
I use +R, they seem to always work, and it worked in my unit.

But how does it work in your dvd burner? :look: :rofl3:

Say is it easy to add factory nav?

Johnny Dangerously
06-19-2010, 08:30 PM
See arent you guys glad I suggested making a copy (for backup purposes) :grin:

Ps, when you get the blank disks, make sure they are of the same format that the original is in and that the dvd burner supports (+R or -R etc)


Thanks CD. :tiphat:

Good thinking... JD?? :waiting:


I use +R, they seem to always work, and it worked in my unit.
My Nav disk doesn't say if it's a +R or -R, the the DL disk I used was a +R, like Rick's, & it worked in my Nav unit too.


`

Johnny Dangerously
06-19-2010, 08:35 PM
But how does it work in your dvd burner? :look: :rofl3:

Say is it easy to add factory nav?
The computer lets me browse the contents or sync it up with something that I don't have on my computer.


`

Johnny Dangerously
06-22-2010, 12:04 AM
Checked the laptop this morning & it takes dual layer disks, so I'll be able to create a back-up copy of your nav disks if you'd like.


`

Stew
06-22-2010, 12:09 AM
I've got version 4P.

I'll be bringing my laptop to Orfstock complete with a DVD burner.

If testing is successful, we'll lure Stew away from his unlocked car that still has the keys in the ignition with some beer.

That way he has complete plausible deniability to the whole incident.


`

I'd be more than happy to make you a copy as soon as I get it. I have some pretty good DVD software as well, I'm sure we can get it figured out. We'll test it out with JD's computer at Orfstock.

Johnny Dangerously
06-22-2010, 12:13 AM
I'd be more than happy to make you a copy as soon as I get it. I have some pretty good DVD software as well, I'm sure we can get it figured out. We'll test it out with JD's computer at Orfstock.
We first need to verify that it will work in the older nav units.

Rick told me about some software called ImgBurn which is free & works great. It's also pretty fast.

If we can get two computers making back-up copies, we'll be done a lot quicker.



`

Stew
06-22-2010, 12:15 AM
We first need to verify that it will work in the older nav units.

Rick told me about some software called ImgBurn which is free & works great. It's also pretty fast.

If we can get two computers making back-up copies, we'll be done a lot quicker.



`

Roger that! :wtg:

Joe G
06-22-2010, 01:23 AM
Has anyone confirmed if the new Nav DVD's work in the old Nav units?

Johnny Dangerously
06-22-2010, 11:37 PM
Has anyone confirmed if the new Nav DVD's work in the old Nav units?
Stew & I have scheduled a test for Friday evening.


`

Orf
06-23-2010, 03:20 AM
Stew & I have scheduled a toast for Friday evening.

That's nice. But what about the DVDs.

My Expedition is running with over 2 year old maps.

Stew
06-23-2010, 03:22 AM
That's nice. But what about the DVDs.

My Expedition is running with over 2 year old maps.

I have DVD's. +R's and +R's DL. If we can make a copy everyone will be good to go.

JTB
06-23-2010, 04:38 AM
I have DVD's. +R's and +R's DL. If we can make a copy everyone will be good to go.


Awesome! :wtg:

Johnny Dangerously
06-23-2010, 10:55 PM
I have DVD's. +R's and +R's DL. If we can make a copy everyone will be good to go.
Based on copying my Nav DVD, a single layer DVD (4.7 GB) isn't big enough. The 8.5 GB DL DVD will be required.

I can only assume that the Nav DVD in the 2011s will also require an 8.5 GB DL DVD.


`

Johnny Dangerously
06-23-2010, 10:58 PM
That's nice. But what about the DVDs.

My Expedition is running with over 2 year old maps.
If the testing is successful with Stew's DVD, copying can begin that evening. I'm not sure how long it'll take on my laptop, but I'll find that out tomorrow evening.

If Keith has a Nav system on his car, maybe we can use his DVD too.


`

Joe G
08-07-2010, 07:33 PM
BTW - thanks to Stew, JD and Rick for making the updated DVD's.

I put my new one in after Orfstock and it works great. I can't really tell a difference (guess nothing new was added in my area that needed to be updated), but it's good knowing that I'm running a much newer map than before.

Thanks all!

Johnny Dangerously
08-07-2010, 08:09 PM
:tiphat2:

Most of it is probably just updated maps. We has an interchange revised in 2006, but the NAV DVD in my '07 didn't reflect the changes. I've also had the map show that we were off-roading when in fact we were driving on the county highway.


`

Joe G
11-07-2011, 04:38 PM
I got the newest mailing from Ford today announcing the updated map is available.


Based on the first two sentences of the letter, I think it's marketed towards TG.



"Update your Ford Navigation System map to find the right route.

(then in larger bold letters...)
Take the scenic route because you want to, not because you have to."




:haha:

Shlbylvr
11-07-2011, 05:23 PM
I got the newest mailing from Ford today announcing the updated map is available.


Based on the first two sentences of the letter, I think it's marketed towards TG.



"Update your Ford Navigation System map to find the right route.

(then in larger bold letters...)
Take the scenic route because you want to, not because you have to."




:haha:

:goodpost:

68fastback
11-07-2011, 06:09 PM
:rofl: ...shall henceforth be know as the TG option :giggle:

Birdman
11-07-2011, 09:41 PM
I got the newest mailing from Ford today announcing the updated map is available.


Based on the first two sentences of the letter, I think it's marketed towards TG.



"Update your Ford Navigation System map to find the right route.

(then in larger bold letters...)
Take the scenic route because you want to, not because you have to."




:haha:

What does the new map CD cost?

Orf
11-07-2011, 10:54 PM
What does the new map CD cost?

$199

Birdman
11-08-2011, 02:33 AM
$199

:faint:

68fastback
11-08-2011, 07:22 AM
...that's pricey! Anything over $50 for a map refresh seems too much to me.

Maybe TG will be licensing his 'scenic route' technology soon :shades: ;-)

CH53Driver
11-08-2011, 07:10 PM
...that's pricey! Anything over $50 for a map refresh seems too much to me.

Maybe TG will be licensing his 'scenic route' technology soon :shades: ;-)

:giggle:

Maybe Mac will buy the rights to it? iLost...

Joe G
11-08-2011, 07:13 PM
:giggle:

Maybe Mac will buy the rights to it? iLost...

:iGoodPost:

CH53Driver
11-08-2011, 08:36 PM
:iTipHat:

68fastback
11-09-2011, 03:52 AM
:giggle:

Maybe Mac will buy the rights to it? iLost...

:rofl3: ...then it will be $0.99 per direction instruction :giggle: